The year 2020 was a volatile one, and now that it has come to an end, there are high hopes for a better and much more stable 2021. Across the country and in the state of California, new laws and regulations are going to take effect. Some of the new legislation is directly influenced by what we experienced during the pandemic. The world’s new normal includes considerations for COVID as well as other potential strains and viruses that could emerge.
What are the New California Laws for 2021?
The following are some of the new 2021 California laws that have taken effect as of January, 2021:
- Every employer who finds out that their employees have been exposed to COVID-19 has 24 hours to tell them.
- Choke holds and carotid holds will not be used by law enforcement and are banned.
- Parolees who were not able to vote due to their criminal history will now be able to legally vote in California.
- Any individual serving time for a felony in a California prison who assisted with fighting the wildfires could have their felony charges expunged when they complete their sentence. This will be determined on a case-by-case basis and depends on the details of the crime committed. Those who do have the privilege of expungement will have an increased ability to become a professional firefighter.
- Companies with greater than 25 employees will have to pay their employees a minimum of $14 per hour, and companies with under 25 employees will have to pay a minimum of $13 per hour.
- Every California company must hold the jobs of its employees for up to 12 weeks to allow unpaid leave in the event of a childbirth or family emergency.
- Companies that have headquarters in California and that are publicly held must have a director installed from an “underrepresented community.”
- Insurance companies must notify their customers about any reduction in coverage and they also must confirm acknowledgment from their customers that they received the updated information. Customers must put their recognition of communications in writing.
- Automobile brake pads that have more than 5% of copper materials will no longer be manufactured in the state.
- Hospitals must have a stockpile of three months’ worth of personal protective equipment. Hospitals must also make sure that their healthcare workers use the equipment.
Meet With a San Diego Criminal Defense Attorney Today
If you have been arrested and charged with a crime in California, call David M. Boertje. As a Southern California criminal defense attorney, David M. Boertje can provide you with targeted and effective criminal legal defense services you need and explain to you how the new laws may affect your case. David M. Boertje is a professional, licensed criminal defense attorney who practices law in state and federal courts.
For the best criminal legal defense in the greater San Diego area, call the Law Offices of David M. Boertje. We are available 24 hours a day and seven days a week at (619) 229-1870 in San Diego or (760) 476-0901 in Carlsbad.