People who are interested in purchasing a gun must do so lawfully because the repercussions that come with unlawful possession of a firearm in California are harsh. According to the Giffords Law Center, California has an A rating on gun laws and is the most restrictive state in the nation when it comes to gun legislation. This is why it is incredibly important to understand California’s strict gun laws so that if you purchase one, you do so legally. Once you own a gun, you must follow the laws to avoid any potential pitfalls that could result in you getting tangled up in the criminal justice system.
What California Gun Control Questions are Asked Most Often?
If you are unsure about issues like illegal possession of weapons, what is in the Gun Control Act, or how you are allowed to use your firearm, a knowledgeable California criminal defense lawyer can help. The following information may provide more clarity when it comes to the most common concerns and inquiries about gun ownership in California:
- How old must you be to buy a gun?
People who are over the age of 18 are legally allowed to buy rifles and shotguns as well as ammunition for them. You have to be older than 21 years of age for all other types of legally available firearms.
- How can you legally sell a firearm in California?
People who are older than 21 years of age must have a Federal Firearms License, must contact their local police station that they applied for the license, and have an appropriate location for selling firearms.
- Who regulates gun ownership?
The Second Amendment of the United States Constitution provides Americans the right to keep and bear arms and the federal government determines what people qualify to own specific types of firearms. The ability to carry in public, though, is regulated by the state and local governments.
- What must you do to buy a firearm in California?
If you are interested in buying a firearm in California, you have to undergo a background check. You must file an ATF 4473 so the federal government can look into your background and see if there is anything that would prevent you from being able to purchase a firearm. Sellers use the information that the ATF 4473 brings about to determine a potential purchaser’s eligibility for buying a firearm.
Some states also require that people who want to purchase a firearm have a permit. In California, if you want to buy a shotgun or a rifle, a permit is a must. Also, California mandates taking a gun safety class and obtaining a passing grade on a written test before a person can purchase a gun.
Speak With a California Criminal Defense Attorney Today
There are circumstances in which people charged with illegal possession of a firearm in California can have their charges dropped. If you were arrested for illegally possessing a weapon, you may be able to have your charges dismissed. To learn more about how that can be possible, call the San Diego criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of David M. Boertje to schedule a free initial case evaluation at (619) 229-1870 for the San Diego office or (760) 476-0901 for the Carlsbad location.